Chief Justice Maynard’s statement in response to allegations in Harman Mining motion

West Virginia Supreme Court Chief Justice Spike Maynard on Tuesday (Jan. 15, 2008) issued the following statement: 

I will file a written response promptly to the motion filed yesterday, but first let me say I’ve been a prosecutor, Judge or Justice for more than 30 years and nothing is more important to me than the integrity of the Court.

The suggestion I have done something improper is nonsense.  

Like most judges, I don’t reward my friends, or punish my enemies from the bench.

I have never denied my friendship with Mr. Blankenship.  Our friendship has never influenced any decision I’ve made for the Court.            

I’m going to address the specific allegations separately, but I want to be crystal clear that in the noted trip I paid my own way, paid for my travel expenses, paid my own hotel expenses out of my own pocket.  I have receipts and records to prove it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Radio news

One Comment on “Chief Justice Maynard’s statement in response to allegations in Harman Mining motion”


  1. […] West Virginia Public Broadcasting Your source for in-depth West Virginia news « Chief Justice Maynard’s statement in response to allegations in Harman Mining motion […]


Leave a Reply

